User Tools

Site Tools


ce3tfwp_updating_to_a_newer_version

Updating to a newer version of CE3 Theme for WordPress

Updating is fairly straightforward, but it's useful to know how WordPress works in this regard.

WordPress references theme preferences for Widgets, Menus and Theme Options by the folder name of your theme. Therefore, if you upload your updated theme into a folder with a new name, then WordPress will treat the theme as if it were new. We recommend keeping the previous theme online so that you can rollback if you want to.

Here's what to do:

  1. Upload the new version theme.
  2. In the dashboard, activate the new theme in Appearance > Themes.
  3. Revisit the Widgets, Menus and Theme Options areas to reestablish your preferences.

OR:

  1. Duplicate the existing theme folder, then rename the duplicate for backup. For example, you might append the version number to the folder name for reference.
  2. Upload the new theme using the same folder name your theme previous used, overwriting the original theme folder.
  3. Your existing preferences should remain in place, but do revisit the Widgets, Menus and Theme Options areas to verify your preferences, and to set any new preferences available in the update.
ce3tfwp_updating_to_a_newer_version.txt · Last modified: 2013/10/05 05:52 by admin