There are two broad categorizations of modifications which can by made to an existing album:
To change the settings of an existing album, double-click the album in the Publish Services list. This will call up the same Create Album dialogue you will have seen when originally creating the album, and in which you may make changes to the album's settings.
There is one way that returning to the Create Album dialogue will differ from the first time you were here. Coming back to the dialogue after publishing images, the Cover Image list will now be populated with a list of previously published images, allowing you to select a specific to represent the album in the gallery index (the TTG CE3 Pages “Galleries” page, or in your targeted auto index).
This is important:
Any changes made to an album will be immediately reflecting in the online album upon clicking “Edit” to exit the dialogue. There is no need to re-publish the album to push changes.
The only exception is if you change the gallery template and the new template requires different image renditions or has a different metadata setup. In such a case, you should re-publish to push new image renditions and/or metadata to the gallery.
Situations in which the content of the album will be changed are:
When a photo previously published is altered, it will move from the “Published Photos” list to the list “Modified Photos to Re-Publish”. A photo can be forced onto this list by selecting it, right-clicking the image and choosing Mark to Republish from the context menu.
Images in the “Modified Photos to Re-Publish” list will be updated on the server when the Publish button is clicked.
When re-publishing images, be mindful of the “Push metadata without updating existing photos” option in the setup of the TTG CE3 Publisher instance. When enabled, images will be published to the server only if:
Therefore, in order for images to be re-published with visual changes – new develop settings, watermarking, etc. – you will need to ensure that the “Push metadata without updating existing photos” option is disabled in the publisher setup.
The reason to enable this setting is that it makes album updates much, much faster when changes do not require the creation or the upload of new image renditions for existing images.
The photo order in a published gallery may be changed as follows:
The new photo order will only take effect after the new publish action. If you have no new photos to publish, you can force a new publishing action by marking a single image to be re-published. Right-click the image, “Mark to Re-Publish”, then press the Publish button at the top of the collection.
Note that “User Order” is not available for Smart Albums. This is a limitation of Lightroom, not of TTG CE3 Publisher.
To remove photos from an album, select the images to be removed and press the Delete key; or right-click the selected images and choose “Remove from Collection” in the context menu. The selected images will be queued for removal. Press the Publish button to effect the change.